I Created My Own Portfolio Using Nextjs

Β·

2 min read

Introduction

Hello! πŸ‘‹ I started working on my own portfolio site so I thought I'd show you what I have created so far.

There are still some parts missing, such as the contact form not doing anything yet, but I'm planning on implementing it soon. πŸ₯²

Also I don't have much experience with front end development yet so if you have any advice I would really appreciate it. πŸ‘€

I also decided to keep it simple as I don't really like flashy animations etc. πŸ˜…


Index Page

The first page is obviously the index page:

Index

Pretty basic I know, I'm probably going to change the "Portfolio" bit into an icon, I also have my instagram/github profile in the navigation bar. πŸ‘€


Experience Page

The next page is my experience page:

Experience

This page basically lists my work experience, the majority of my work is with Japanese companies. I also sometimes do a little bit of freelancing on the side.

I'm thinking of changing the list into cards. 😸


About Page

The about page contains simple information about me:

About

I still need to change the avatar but it's basically a simple card layout. The background image was taken during my travels around Japan.


Contact Page

Finally the contact page:

Contact

This is probably my favorite page as I love the color scheme. ☺️ However I still haven't implemented the logic for sending so that will be my next biggest priority.


Conclusion

Here I have showcased my own portfolio site. I think every developer should create their own portfolio site as it's an amazing learning experience. 😎

I know using nextjs for something simple like this is a bit overkill, but I'm currently learning nextjs and tailwind so it was a great learning experience.

I'm thinking of supporting multiple languages once I implement the contact form.

Also if you have any advice etc. Please let me know. πŸ€—

The source for this project can be found at: github.com/ethand91/next-portfolio

The site is live at ethan-dev.com, you can view it just don't try to use the contact form. πŸ˜‚

For hosting I use a service called netlify, I strongly recommend it they even provide free SSL.

If you already have your own portfolio site, let me know and I'll give it a view. πŸ‘€

Happy Coding! πŸ’ͺ


Like me work? I post about a variety of topics, if you would like to see more please like and follow me. Also I love coffee.

β€œBuy Me A Coffee”

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Ethan by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Β